With the ageing of society, we are now beginning to see a growing interest in further abolishment of mandatory retirement.

There is no denying the fact that the phenomenon of ageing population is ubiquitous across the globe due to its paramount importance. While there are some strong arguments in favor of requiring judges to retire at 65 and above, many still hold that it is better to abolish mandatory retirement. This essay sheds light on the reasons for dismantling the part of this system. Firstly, it is true that the health of older people nowadays has been becoming more decent, which led to the fact that many of them are active, productive members of the society. This is because the elderly easily have access to advanced medical services, nutrition daily diet that might enable them to maintain their health conditions. Take Japan as an example, the authority has expanded the working-age of citizen because of the significant increase in citizens' life expectancy over the country. The old, who have longer longevity reaching the age of 65 and beyond, will possibly continue their employment. For this reason, the government should do away with compulsory retirement policy due to good health conditions of seniors these days. Secondly, another benefit from abolishing mandatory retirement policy is consistency of macroeconomic performance. It is commonly argued that the old are still disqualified to working in labor force environment. This argument may be true to some extent. However, people should take into account the fact that the elderly possess the wealth of working experience, skills, hands-on and rule-of-thumps. By ceasing employment with senior employees, businesses would lose valuable human resources and expert consultancy from them. Furthermore, job holders who have worked for a long time are often the source of leadership that could inspire and guide newcomers for companies. As a result, retirement is not suitable for employees who are still capable of fulfilling their working tasks. In conclusion, under no circumstances should people underestimate the elderly since their good physical conditions as well as valuable knowledge are two main factors that youngsters hardly enhance as mentioned above. Therefore, I strongly support that mandatory retirement should be considered to eliminate.