Science may soon make it possible for people to live until they are 100, or perhaps even until they are 200. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

The continuous improvement of science has brought various benefits for humanity, including lengthening longevity. Thanks to that, scientists are believed to expand life expectancy nearly 100, perhaps more, despite its existing drawbacks. However, in my stance, if I have a chance to live much longer than the average age in the world, I will receive with my best regards. To begin with, living a long life with most people is a favor for them to complete their unfulfilled dream. Normal people often survive around 70 years, which means that their enthusiasm only remains for a short time when they are in childhood. After their youth has gone, they will become more mature with many responsibilities and have to put personal dreams on hold. Thus, if lifespan, for example, increases 30 years more, people may feel more comfortable and not have regrets, since they have enough time to execute both their compulsory position with society and their goal. Moreover, while people can be alive for an approximate century, they will see at least two following generations. At that time, the older will be considered as a “alive museum” which keeps a lot of cultural values and their knowledge will help them teach their descendents more about the tradition and experiences. It means that the new generation will be equipped with a wide understanding to build a bright future. . On the other hand, sometimes, an overlong life brings an enormous number of disadvantages. Firstly, the medical system will be under a huge pressure when it has to provide many kinds of services taking special care for elderly and make sure to maintain enough medicine for emergencies like stroke, heart disease, blood pressure disease, . . . . Furthermore, vacancies for people to inhabit might be exhausted if the older would not die, but the younger is still generated. Governments also bear the burden of accommodations and retired benefits. In conclusion, even though the success of recent science can satisfy many people’s dream to have a longer life, its inconvenient influence is always present which makes some people suspect and disagree. In my opinion, it is so worth an opportunity to live a longer life than expected and you can prepare well to receive the death without concern.