Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language

There are many different opinions about learning foreign languages of students at their school. The most mixed opinions happen with the issue that should a foreign language be an obligatory subject. Some people think that students should be more focused on their mother language and other subjects such as science and history. Moreover, students should not be forced to learn, which is not wrong, and I agree completely with this point. Although I think that it is necessary to let children learn new things about other countries, especially through communication. To understand someone, firstly you have to able to know what they say. To do this, learning their language is the best way. Not only it can help children to talk to many more people from the rest of the world. It is also said by many studies that studying foreign languages help enhance concentration, improve memory as well as listening methods. In addition, children also can access new information or understand some points that might be only available in one specific language. For example, an America can not see how amazing and beautiful Kieu is in writer Nguyen Du's poem named "Kieu" as Vietnamese's point of view unless they study Vietnamese well. Alternatively, children should be encouraged, not forced to study. A concrete example is in Vietnam, the most common second language is English. However, there are students that do not like or have an intention to use English in both life and work in their future. Instead, they want to study Chinese or France, Japanese. . . Sadly, most of them never have a choice and they are struggling every day with a subject that seems not helpful at all. Yet studying a foreign language is never easy, to some people that have problem in language thinking ability this shall be their worst nightmare. For this reason, children need to be motivated to do things that they do not find interesting. As the ones who educate children, teachers should help them to enjoy the process. Such as outside activities, meet the native speakers, visit or learn about the culture of that language's country, . . . If children are compelled to study something that stressful for them, they would never possibility to learn it well. In conclusion, studying a new language is very important to students, however, no foreign language should be an obligation.