Schools are spending more time teaching subjects such a history. S ome people think they should rather spend more time in training skills that can help students find a job.

Deciding a school curriculum is an arduous task. Where on one hand, schools are seen investing a significant proportion of time on conventional subjects like history, many people suggest teaching job ready education should be prioritised. I personally believe the latter perspective to be more rational but with few exceptions. Undoubtedly, history hold a huge relevance in our lives. Not only does it tells us about our origin and background buy also makes us proud of the glorious past that we had. So, in a way it connects us to our roots and hence, has to be a mainstream subject in schools. However, the world we are living in nowadays has become utterly competitive. If schools fail to equip students with soft skills; confidence, honesty, public speaking, presentation skills, communication skills, it will become difficult to fetch a golden employment opportunity. To justify, a friend of mine just got her desired job over another candidate, who although had better qualifications than her, but failed to interact with the missed out in the group discussion round. Furthermore, the technical skills like plumbing, gardening, mechanics will be taught more precisely in schools, it will help students who are unable to purse higher level education due to personal or financial issues. Such students will be able to support themselves and their families without crippling themselves under huge monetary debts. To conclude, although history cannot be left out of syllabus, but considering the cut throat competition, I believe that more emphasis should be given on teaching job ready skills at schools. Therefore, schools should take an initiative to re-evaluate their curriculum to enhance the education system in our world.