Schools are spending more time in traditional subjects like history etc. They should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help them find a job.

Whether it is to understand the traditional way of life or ancient cultures, everybody needs to learn history at every aspect of his life. Some people argue that learning history is not skill efficient and schools should allocate less time to teach about it and focus more on vocational subjects such as communication skills and time management to help students in future for better job prospects. Whether or not this perspective is good is a moot point. This essay will delve into both the viewpoints further. To begin with, skills learnt in schools paves the way to implement the cornerstone of the life for future growth. Classroom study should inculcate teaching basic skills of life such as communication skills, time management and business organisation, which is the basic requirement of working in an organisation, and it will in turn help the early learners to develop those skills earlier in life and find better job opportunities in future. For example, the curriculum of the school subject of former President of India, Late APJ Abdul Kalam, includes people management skill, which helped Mr. Kalam to understand different personalities during his journey to become President. Had the school not taught this subject, he would have faced difficulties to manage clashing viewpoints in the Parliament and NASA and he would not have become the Missile Man of India. On the face of it, learning about past seem to be waste of precious time; however is there any downfall to this phenomenon? History plays a paramount role in every aspect of life and the school goers should need to develop the skill to read history and learn from it at early stage of their life. At every corner of the choosen career, one has to read history to understand the foundation of his selected subject. To illustrate, Doctors need to read history of medicals to understand and prescribe suitable medicines; Astronauts needs to refer back to history of their failed launches in order to evaluate what went wrong and learn from it and avoid future mistakes. If it had not been involvement of history, the innovation and development through correction of mistakes would have not been possible. To conclude, it is true that basic skills learnt at early stages of life makes the process of finding suitable and desering job easier, however one should not ignore the study of ancient life altogether. In my opinion, teachers should strike-out a clear balance between the two and with clever use, one can harness the unlimited potential of school goers.