Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

Nowadays, tourism industry become more and more popular in developing counties because this is one of the easiest ways to earn money. Some say that it has some positive impact and I would definitely agree with that, however it is also clear, that there are some disadvantages of tourism. On the one hand, tourism is a fabulous opportunity for poor countries become more wealthy and more economic stable. The reason why tourism flourishes in those places is ease and quickness of earning money while only small amount of money is needed grow it. Countries such as Sri-Lanka, Maldives or Puerto-Rico could be a great example where over half of their budget goes from tourism. Moreover, this is the only branch of economy that they can earn money from. In fact, tourism developing can stimulate another industries helping country become wealthy much more quickly. On the other hand, todays worldwide problems like global warming, water pollution, deforestation are caused by many factors, but including tourism as well. Wild nature is suffering from tourism and because of that government should take some actions to stop it. In Iceland, for examples, beautiful landscapes were destroyed by tourist in the 5 years period. In Brazil, a huge number of trees are cut every single day to build new roads and because of that lot of unique species disappeared. To conclude, in my opinion tourism is a great opportunity for poor countries become much wealthy and that will make better life for citizens. However, government should control it and avert nature destructions and what is much more important create appropriate facilities for it.