Schools are restricting students' access to mobile phones on campus. Is it right or wrong in your opinion.

In today's world, majority of the students have mobile phones. However, Schools have introduced restrictions or banned the usage of mobile phones within premises or in specific areas within the premises. While these devices has some positive effects such as connectivity, quicker response to any emergencies or a bit of learning, they do have negative effects as well, owing to which the schools started imposing restrictions on the device usage within premises. This, in my opinion, is definitely required as the negative effects outweigh the positive effects on kids learning, physical and social well-being. Firstly, restricting access within the class can significantly improve the learning process. Students with mobile phones check frequently for any alerts or use the devices for other unrelated purposes while in class. This in turn will effect the student's concentration as well as the neighboring students and the entire class. This is evident from the multiple instances identified recently in cameras attached to classes. Hence, restricting the device access can definitely reduce the distractions and improve student's towards the topic being discussed in the class. Secondly, mobile phones can easily become an addiction, thereby restricting the students' time spent on physical activities such as games, exercise and social activities such as mingling with fellow students. This in turn will have a compound effect on students' physical fitness and mental abilities. Recent studies have shown students using more time on mobile phones tend to be obese and reserved in nature. Schools, in addition to studies, are expected to play a major role in well rounded development of students and so should strictly restrict any distractions towards such development in the longer run. Finally, we have few more issues that could impact the students development in both shorter and longer runs in case phones are allowed on campus. To conclude, the cons of allowing students to carry mobile phones inside school premises significantly outweigh the pros of allowing the same. Hence, in my opinion, Schools' decision to restrict mobile is a really justified initiative as it will help ensure no distractions are permitted towards the students overall development.