Schools and colleges have moved away from books & other literature to online tests and assignments. Do you agree with this change of learning patterns. Give your reasons for it

The 21st century has made holding a physical copy of a classic in your hands a rare feat. We are moving away from the traditional ways of learning and embarking onto an era where reading and learning from books, novels, thesis and other works of art have become far easier with the click of a button. Is this altogether a good think, we may ask? Yes and no, I would say. With the onset of the Amazon Kindle and Playbooks, reading anytime and anywhere has become a reality. At the same time, having all of it available on your smart devices saves us huge amounts of money. Gone are the days when books and research work required being stored in the attic for a future reference. This century has made bookshelves lose their sheen. Schools and colleges too have joined the bandwagon of teaching using smart devices that go a long way in reducing the dependence on physical copies. Assignments and project work are commonly submitted using soft copies, so are the evaluations done using tools such as Google Classroom. Books are available as PDF files that can be stored up for posterity. No missing pages, no torn corners, no need to have a physical book to complete the assigned task. It goes a long way in saving Mother Earth too! No paper, no deforestation & thereby no recycling. This method of course has its limitations. Publishing houses & writers who have been used to investing large sums of money in research work, today feel the pinch. Reduced interest by consumers in owning a physical copy of their work, is to say the least, discouraging. The personalization of a book held by an avid reader, or an University as part of its curriculam or endorsed by one of the famous institutes as reference material are all adversely impacted when printed copies replace the original physical book. Critics of course, would argue, it is best to change with the times and move away from insisting on one method over the other. Both, have its own advantages and disadvantages and hence, its best to strike a balance between the two while at school.