Do you think it is better to use public transportthan travel by car?

The global warming has made us to reflex about what is better to cut down our carbon footprint, going to the places into the public transport or using the car. What do you think is better? On the one hand, the emission of greenhouse gases are lower when we use the subway or bus rather than the car. If you calculate the amount of gases that a bus emits divide for the number of passengers, this give us a small amount of carbon footprint that each person leaves. On the other hand, the cost of both ways of transport is really different. Buses have lower costs than a car because the mantainance and the price of this last one is higher when you realize the price of a bus is lower, this has a reason you only pay the travel in them. Finally, cars are faster when you are in a rush because you don't have to wait them like buses. Furthermore, a research has found that people only use the bus when the public transport works really fast and you don't have to wait a lot of time. To sum up, cars are better when you need time but public transport has a lower price and it is better for taking care of the environment. In my opinion, I prefer to use my car because I live far away from the capital although I will use public transport if I live near it.