School plays a more important role than the family in shaping one’s personality

Psychologists have been doing research on whether school plays a more important role than the family in shaping one’s personality or not. As a result, there is no absolute answer since the evidence is both in support of and against the dispute, which is worth examining before reaching any conclusions. The convincing point in favour of the above-mentioned statement is that children spend a great amount of time at school, where they learn how to socialise. They get more chances to expose to the diversity of different personalities, which may have influences on their personality. An additional major advantage of schools is that schools guide students to define their passions and discover their strengths as well. Students are taught many subjects, which provides them with a wide range of knowledge. Therefore, they get to decide what are their interests, which makes one an individual among others. On the other hand, it may be argued that one of the most important functions of the family is nourishing children. During their childhood, they are attached most to their parents. Since this is the vital phase in constituting their personalities, it is undeniable that families have such an impact on the child. The argument is proved by some research, claiming that children reflect parental behavior. Furthermore, schools nowadays focus on tests and competitions. Consequently, students have little time to develop their personalities. In most cases, the study time overwhelms the break time and students can not interact with each other much. All things considered, there is a slight chance that their personalities develop drastically at school. To sum up, it is my belief that both schools and families are vital to individuals to some extent. There may be a comparison between these two, yet there is not much variation in their contributions to one’s personality. Thus, schools and families should do their best to raise their kids, who are the bright future of the community.