Many new types of bacteria are appearing in the world today and these superbugs are often resistant to antibiotics. What can be done to tackle the health problems that these bacteria cause? (write for 150 words)

Antibiotic resistance has become a broader crisis in medicine. Though there is on-going research on new, safe and effective antibiotics, those are very difficult to find as the bacterias have been mutated many folds. While we support the on-going effort to develop antibiotics, an alternative thought to therapeutic approach should be also considered to counter in the long run. One strategy utilize the ability of some drugs to potentiate the effect of antibiotics which need a smaller dose of anti bacterial drugs and reduces the undesirable side effects. It invades the bacterial cells and decreases the efflux of antibiotics in those cells. For Instance, in in-vivo and in-vitro experiments, it has been noticed that a combination of proanthocyanidin with antibiotics has increased the ability to fight against the bacteria. On the other hand, few microbiologists have discovered viruses, the bacteriophages as the secondary solution to deal with many bacterial infections. The exploitation of these natural parasites of microbes as an antibacterial therapy has shown a new path to counter the deadly effects. Recently, several cases reported the positive outcome of phage therapy produced substantial clinical benefits in severe infections. The enzymes derived from these microbes used to digest the bacterial coats which inturn restricts the growth of the foreign pathogen. To conclude, though antibiotics are futile in treating the major infections, human beings have discovered many new ways of treating the phages either by combining with other drugs or utilizing the microbial substances. The persistence towards discovering a new method to treat the bacterial illness will continue till we have a major breakthrough.