Almost every successful company is using advertisements to increase their sales. What features make an advertisement effective? Is advertising good or bad for the society?

The advertisement is the form of television & radio commercials, billboards, wall paintings, classified ads in newspapers, online ads and so on have changed the way products are marketed now. Advertisement plays a key role to change the mindset and is instrumental in increasing the profit margin of different industries. This essay will analyse attributes that make an advertisement successful and will provide an opinion on its merits and demerits to the society. The effectiveness of an advertisement depends on myriad factors. Primarily, they should be competitive in the pricing structure of what others are offering. Advertisements should be very close to consumer expectations and its core features and other attributes should be appealing and convincing. Moreover, it should contain a very strong theme and unique message that put potential customers on their toes and they mark them in their grocery list. For instance, the advertisements of Coca-Cola are well known for their unique commercials where the same product is marketed using different themes and sensational ideas. Furthermore, the cast and location of the ads are of equal importance, ads having superstars brings more value to the product and helps to improve the quality of the advertisement. Apart from that companies also announce different pricing schemes that attract the buyers and increase their sales. Advertisements have both positive and negative impact on the society and it largely depends on the people how they adapt to it. Advertisements are vital in introducing new products which customers might be looking for. They aid consumers in making a quick comparative analysis based on the features and price tags which help them to either buy of reject a product. Demerits are that they result in extra expense which an individual has not planned for. Numerous ads of the products having more or less same features distract people easily. Moreover, they are aimed to rip off pockets of consumers than to provide true value for money. To recapitulate, the aforementioned provides several plausible points on the effectiveness of ads and their impact on the society. In my opinion, ads are not good or bad by itself, it depends on consumers how they take it forward.