salinity of lake in California

Both the reading and listening discuss the salinity of a lake in California. The reading presents the solutions on how to reduce the salt in the lake, while the listening disapproves of those solutions. Firstly, the reading explains salinity which means level of salt in water. Furthermore, to lower down the level of salinity in the lake, the reading passage suggests to remove the salt from water by desalination facilities. Water would be pumped into the facility and heated this will leave the salt and other materials behind. However, the listening insists that desalination is an ineffective solution as this will result in a serious health hazard. The solid materials left behind contain toxic chemicals and if inhaled by humans may deteriorate the persons health. Secondly, the reading asserts to dilute the lake water with ocean water as the water in ocean is 20 percent less salty. Furthermore, the way of deliverance of ocean water may be through pipelines or canals. In contrast, the listening argues on the fact that there is not enough resources to construct pipelines or canals, and the construction of these equipment is quite expensive thus this solution is not useful. Finally, the reading states another solution which is, the construction of walls in the lake to divide the water according to their salinity. By this way the salinity may be reduced and controlled, this may also help in delivering the freshwater from rivers into the lake. On the other hand, the listening points out that the geography of lake faces many geographical changes and disruptions like earthquake which disrupts the lake and will lead to collapse of construction walls thus leading to mixing of water.