Rote learning is not a good educational method.

Some people think that rote learning can be an effective method and can bring advantages for students to studying. However, I totally disagree with this opinion due to several reasons. To begin with, rote learning is not an effective studying method since the knowledge which students acquire from learning by heart usually remains in their mind just for a short time. After a quite long time, students will gradually forget the knowledge and hardly can put them into practice. If students use rote learning as a studying method, they will not be able to understand the lesson thoroughly and get all the details that the lesson brings about. In the event of being asked to give answers to a particular question from a different angle, they will absolutely struggle with it. Moreover, this kind of studying method can discourage students’ creativity as they just learn by heart the knowledge which was given. Lack of creativity is a huge obstacle for students in dealing problems single- handedly. In addition, the students can’t be independent of their teachers or instructors and they can also become passive learners by studying through this method. A number of students consider rote learning an effective way for gaining high scores at school. This might be right as it is a quick-fix solution to be able to remember the knowledge for a short time before the exam. However, that knowledge might be forgotten because rote learning can not keep the knowledge stably in students’ minds. Consequently, it might affect students’ academic results down the line. To conclude, rote learning is not an ideal way of studying for students.