Robots should be deployed in Hotels

AI has not seized control yet; however, it is obvious that machines are significantly interfering in humans' lives and influencing all personal, professional, and social aspects of individuals. From smart personal assistant apps like Siri and Alexa to chef robots in restaurants, they are expanding their spaces in various industries and hospitality is no exception. Robot laborers have become popular in the hospitality sector. Whether it is a good practice or not is under question by some people who claim the robots are borderline facilities. I believe employing robots within a hotel seems an efficient and cost-effective approach even in spite of their probable high costs. Risk management in hotels is defined by safety and security. In terms of safety, robots are extremely efficient. They provide faster detection in the event of a fire or chemical poisoning. They can quickly detect smoke or poisonous gases. They are also programmed to precisely follow safety protocols in record time, which aids in damage control. Furthermore, their resistance to danger makes them suitable substitutes for human contacts in order to deal with risky situations. This reduces the cases of health traumas (Starkov, 2020) during duty hours. Apart from safety, they offer efficient functionality in the field of security. In the case of identification, they easily can identify the fraud id cards, so they can prevent suspect movements within properties. Also, they are safe against bullets and knives which does not cause any loss of life. According to Starkov, Knightscope's fully autonomous security robots are examples of AI technology that are widely being used in the lodging and entertainment sectors (2020, para. 14). In short, AI escalates the standards of managing risks in hotels. AI has created productivity in Housekeeping areas. Robots can easily manage to lift heavy objects such as mattresses, beds, in guest rooms while cleaning or changing the bedspreads. They also can be used to reach places that normally are dangerous for human room attendants such as exterior windows in multi-stories properties. Sweeper robots provide round-the-clock sweeping procedures in public areas within the hotel which is not very practical with human employers. In addition, shorter time and more efficient cleaning practices are stated as remarkable benefits of robot laborers in hotels. For example, Rosie the housekeeper robot which has the ability to clean guest rooms and public areas up to 20 percent and 80 percent faster respectively (2020, para. 13). Clearly, healthy housekeeping functions by robots cannot be ignored by hoteliers. On the other hand, some people argued that robotic laborer is not a smart deal in terms of operational costs because they cause major expenses regarding their need for repair and maintenance. However, it is not true because of their low wages (Starkov, 2020, para. 13&14), and consequently, their high returns will make up their costs. In addition, robots help to build innovative revenue streams in hospitality. Haddad stated one of the owners of robotic hotels believes that robots of animes and manga are two areas that can notably encourage target market desires for booking (2020, para. 2). Last but not least, robots make fewer errors than humans, reducing the number and cost of damages caused by human errors. Unprofessional staff generates a lot of waste in the kitchen, may use too many chemicals, which damage the linen and surfaces in the guest rooms or break the electrical devices down due to lack of skills. All in all, hoteliers benefit from robots in both financial and operational aspects. Benefits of having a robotic workforce outweigh the extra expenses for their maintenance because they can level up the standards of hotel management by providing safer operations, a secure environment with the least life-threatening, 24/7 productive room service and cleaning practice in very lower wages, and boosting revenue with providing robotic attractions. Automotive lifestyle is the future of human being lifestyle despite the opponent’s ideas around the cost of purchasing and maintaining artificial intelligence in an industry such as hospitality which is a labor-intensive business.