An increasing population is using computers and electronic devices to do screen reading instead of reading books, magazines and newspapers, so there is no need for printed publications to exist.

A particular issue about digital media has raised quite a concern at home and abroad. It is widely believed that instead of producing printed newspapers, using e-books to search for information and news is more acceptable. In my opinion, saying that tangible papers can be superseded by electronic implements not only carries a range of weaknesses, but there are also reasons to explain why printed newspapers are necessary for this respect. On one hand, carrying digital books do benefit people to some degree. Not only do these media provide a broad spectrum of information to the audience, but also lessen the burden of the environment. Since humans have been deforesting wild habitats to produce papers, global warming has recently raised an alarm, therefore papers are now digitalized to create environmental resilience. However, the aforementioned belief holds a myriad of problems. Although the advent of the Internet does decrease paper usage, electronic devices still need to charge their batteries, which requires even more fire plants to generate a large amount of electricity and can cause profound repercussions to the environment. On the other side of the spectrum, printed newspapers can be useful for a kaleidoscope of aspects. For one thing, reading papers can create an atmosphere without being exposed to radioactivity, which may lower the possibility of having myopia and other illnesses. For example, researches indicate are now experienced an ever-growing population to have myopia, which then causes problems in their later life. For another, those geriatrics normally face barriers to access news from the Internet, hence printed newspapers can be accepted by more groups and are more friendly to technophobes. In a nutshell, what can be concluded from the above analyses, is that rather than underscoring more on digital media, it is better to understand to importance of printed newspapers, ranging from decreasing the rate of illnesses to breaking down barriers for technophobes.