Robots are increasing in operating in the industrialized world. On one hand, robots replace people of dangerous or in unpleasant jobs for human beings and robotic manipulators manufacture products that are of higher quality and lower cost. On the other hand, some people think that robots can cause the loss of jobs.

Many robotic applications are for tasks that are either dangerous or unpleasant for human beings. In medical laboratories, robots handle potentially hazardous materials, such as blood or urine samples. In other cases, robots are used in repetitive, monotonous tasks in which human performance might degrade over time. Robots can perform these repetitive, high-precision operations 24 hours a day without fatigue. Activities in environments that pose great danger to humans, such as locating sunken ships, cleanup of nuclear waste, prospecting for underwater mineral deposits, and active volcano exploration, are ideally suited to robots. Similarly, robots can explore distant planets. NASA's Galileo, an unpiloted space probe, travelled to Jupiter in 1996 and performed tasks such as determining the chemical content of the Jovian atmosphere. Robots are being used to assist surgeons in installing artificial hips and very high-precision robots can assist surgeons with delicate operations on the human eye. Research in telesurgery uses robots, under the remote control of expert surgeons that may one day perform operation in distant battlefields, remote. areas. It is sometimes said that, robots can cause the loss of jobs. However, robots only cause the loss of unskilled jobs, particularly on assembly lines in factories New jobs are created in software and sensor development in robot installation and maintenance, and in the conversion of old factories and the design. of new ones. These new jobs, however, require higher levels of skills and training. Technologically oriented societies must face the task of retraining workers who lose jobs to automation, providing them with new skills so that they can be employable in the industries of the 21" century.