Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach art subjects, like philosophy and history, and offer practical degree courses that maximize the chances of employment.

It is considered by many people that universities should focus on developing practical subject-based education and discontinue art studies to tackle the issues of fees hike and dearth in job opportunities. I completely agree that theoretical art studies are not beneficial to graduates in the current job sector and instead practical knowledge is the key to maximize employment. First of all, the current job sector demands pragmatic candidates, whereas the art-graduates of either history or philosophy have their knowledge restricted to merely theories, facts or dates. Even though these facts and dates provide crucial information, which helps in understanding our cultures and languages, but learning the same will not help an individual to develop skills to manage an event, operate a machine or develop a computer program. Furthermore, most of the companies are not interested in spending extra money for the training of unskilled graduates when the work can be completed by robots efficiently and cheaply. As a result, there is a shortage of work in the corporate sector which leads to unemployment. Therefore, the university curriculum should exclude art studies as their bookish information is not feasible in the work industry. Secondly, practical exposure helps individuals to develop creative and critical thinking which aids in improving the employment rate. In other words, experienced graduates can themselves start their private businesses or startups instead of joining companies. These businesses can, not only generate extra jobs for the current market, but can also support the universities financially, which will eventually lead to a decrease in education fees. For instance, about 30% of India's youth work in various startups such as OYO-rooms, Zomato and Swiggy food services or TATA consultancy services because of non-availability of jobs in the governmental industrial units. Also, TATA company offers scholarships in various Indian universities to prodigy students who can't afford high fees. To conclude, I strongly believe that the art subjects should be replaced with practical courses as they help the graduates to develop the required skills to get employed.