Some people think that it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Other people believe that it’s good to have friends, who sometimes disagree with them.

In recent times, many people assert that it is quite imperative to select friends on the basis of similar opinion as ours. Others; however disagree, and believe that there should be difference of opinion between friends. In this essay, I will analyze both sides of the argument in detail and will form an opinion that why it is vital to have companions who hold opposite views. On the one hand, those who believe that friends should be selected on the basis of similar thoughts, have some reasons to prove. Firstly, every personal matter can be shared easily. To elucidate, these type of friends are like our family members, who are there in thick and thins of life. Every time, a person needs a help, whether it is financial or moral support, a friend always comes first. Secondly, they also believe that having a friend of similar nature, might help them to use their friends the way they want. For instance, a friend may be asked for semester fee or for the completion of assignments if he holds the same view as his friend. Nevertheless, on the other hand, those who believe that friends should have different views have more valid reasons to prove. Firstly, they believe that discussion would be productive. To be specific, when two people having different views interact, there are chances that they might make the discussion interesting and reach a conclusion. Furthermore, having a person of opposite views, it is very likely that some wrong idea or evil thought might be corrected. Studies have shown, that friendship of those friends who hold opposite views had lasted for long as compared to those who hold similar views. Therefore, it is beneficial to have friends of opposite nature. To Sum up, it is irrefutable that having friends of similar thoughts have some benefits. But, it is my firm conviction that our companions should have opposite views, so that the discussions can be productive and the wrong decisions or thoughts can be corrected.