Revolutions transform the way of life as people know it and occur due to numerous reasons. Sometimes they may happen because of technological changes, other times due to warfare.

Revolutions transform the way of life as people know it and occur due to numerous reasons. Sometimes they may happen because of technological changes, other times due to warfare. Nevertheless, regardless of the cause, revolutions tend to have benefits and adverse effects on the population. The influences are often long-lasting and require humans to adapt to them. Individuals should accept the changes led by a revolution and strive to obtain the best out of the situation rather than resist. A revolution that overthrows a government is common, especially in nations that have an unstable rule. An excellent example is the American Revolution, in which the British lost their power over their colonies. One of the pros of the American Revolution is that the Americans were able to gain their freedom from the British (Anderson-mcleod, 2016). By going to war with their colonial masters, they defeated them and established their governance. Another benefit of beginning a revolution is that it motivates other individuals undergoing similar injustices to revolt against their oppressors. This impact is evident in the American Revolution, which led to other nations such as France rebelling against monarchy (Anderson-mcleod, 2016). The cons of beginning a technological revolution such as the one that occurred during the industrial era are that it negatively impacted the environment by depleting the earth’s natural resources and increasing pollution (Rafferty, n. d. ). Factories needed more raw materials, and the disposal of waste was done poorly. In summation, a revolution has both advantages and disadvantages. People should be aware of these impacts and try to maximize the benefits. However, revolutions cannot always be entirely planned for, as most of them occur abruptly. Individuals would do well to be flexible and prepared to change with the times. Revolutions that lead to overthrowing corrupt regimes could result in better leadership for its people and make other nations rebel against poor governance.