reservarions in jobs should be abolished.

Reservations based on caste, gender or religion weakens the foundation of a developing nation. Certain liberal's debate about reservation at workplaces as unjustified and demand for it to be eradicated. I believe that any kind of discriminatory workplace hiring practises must be put to an end. In my discourse ahead, I will not only support my opinion with justifying reasons, but also highlight the contradictory view that others in the society might possibly have. To begin with, reservations of seats at a workplace encourage bias. Eaming a job should be solely based on one's competency and skill-sets. Merit based jobs support equality, while a system which in any manner has a room for reservations promotes the growth of discrimination. To illustrate, allotting a post to a less qualified person just because he belongs to an income group may do injustice to the well qualified individual who does not belong to that income group. This way, the talented individuals may be left out in the system. Another reason is that reservations for jobs are usually based on generic factors and does not target the job oriented criteria. Owing to this the system fails to imbibe the best skilled labour from the market and hire the ones who are not actually a good match for the work. To illustrate, there are several non-competent officials working in government and bureaucracy just because they belong to a particular segment. However, there are some individuals who believe that reservations for employment uplifts less privileged individuals. One of the foremost reasons behind their belief could be development of a sect that has remained rearward due to the opportunities given to them. Another reason could be that if certain individual manages to get a job on a reserved seat. they may set an example for rest of the community and encourage other members to break the stereotype and work too. To conclude, even though it is a popular belief that employment related reservations help to uplift a particular sector of the society, I strongly believe that reservations should be abolished from the system as a whole as it has the potential to deteriorate the society's values of hard work.