Lately many grownups spend their leisure time hooked on to computer games. There are varied reasons for this, as would be clear from the ensuing paragraphs.

Lately many grownups spend their leisure time hooked on to computer games. There are varied reasons for this, as would be clear from the ensuing paragraphs. All adults increasingly live a very busy and complicated lifestyle. They are most of the time hooked on to the net either through their laptops or through their handhelds, thus giving rise to a phenomenon of multitasking. Adults of our generation have an attention span much less compared to our parents generation, boredom creeps in easily providing the right excuse to play computer games. The social fabric has been facing erosion right since the advent of this modern technology; as a matter of fact the social matrix erosion is progressing relentlessly. Our generation has been knowingly or unknowingly being drawn into this vicious web of addiction where instant gratification begets more gratification. Besides, we have been blessed by increasing dexterity as an adaptation to the technology of our times that it seems to be smooth pursuit for many millennials of the digital generation to multitask by playing games via one hand and to multitask with the other. A section of the society has an opinion that such gaming skills helps in development of brain, cognition besides dexterity which can in addition help in decision making, strategising, surgeries, working in fields like robotics, aeronautics and complex warfare. However the deleterious effects are also significant, firstly games provide the ideal escape route from the vagaries of social interaction, hence causing individuals to be lonely, socially disconnected, furthermore, some may develop self harm and depression, apart from breakdown of family and social ethos of the community. Secondly long working hours with fingers can cause inflammation of tendons and increased screen time can lead to ocular problems. Certain violent games may cause increase in aggressive behaviours among the players. Furthermore reduced physical exercise may be detrimental to physical health. As can be deduced from the above discussion of grown ups getting hooked to computer games. I would consider it to be partially a positive development as moderation is the dharma, as an excess of anything is bad.