Research suggests that the majority of criminal who are send to prison should commit crime when set free. Why do you think is the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

There is a distributing trend noticed, in recent times, of the delinquents to re-offend once released from jail. If pondered, there are several root causes of this occurrence; however, some steps could help to resolve this situation. Both the questions are explained further in the ensuing paragraphs. delinquents Several underlying reasons could be attributed to such a phenomenon. The most pivotal one is that most of them lack basic vocational skills. In other words, the majority of offenders are incarcerated when young, and therefore, they are devoid of fundamental qualifications which can make them employable. As a result, once exonerated most of them turn back to the unethical ways of earning money. Moreover, their criminal status alienates them from the rest of the community. To put it simply, it is a widespread tendency to ostracize those who have had a shady past, and society does not provide them accommodation or employment simply because of the stigma. For example, most companies whether governmental or private have a prerequisite of not having a criminal background and need to obtain NOC from the police. Lastly, some of them have stringent criminal psychology, which is not able to cure and they will keep committing the same crime. Nonetheless, it can be curb by some appropriate prevention measures. Firstly, the center must avail vocational training in jail. By this, I mean that to stop re-offending, the inmate just learns technical or soft skills that could give them jobs. For instance, several countries like Japan and Netherlands have mature training programs where the delinquents are not only students but also teachers of many courses. Apart from this, monitoring must be done on those who were recently released from prison. This is to say, if the government started surveillance of potential wrong-doers, it would help to stop crime to a great extent, which is easier in the case of people with prevalent crime records. Also, separating them from the community and excessive awareness among general people can be helpful. In conclusion, admittedly, the episodes of crimes are on the rise especially from those with the same background. Mainly, owing to a lack of motor skills, and support from society, they tend to re-offend; however, this could be controlled by appropriate monitoring and awareness