Q. An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialise. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated.

With the rise in the dependency on the internet to interact and socialise with new people, the masses now have contrasting viewpoints. For some, the extensive use of the internet has brought people closer. In contrast, for others, it has left individuals more isolated. This essay will discuss arguments on both sides and will summarise my stand on the subject. First, let us consider the first half of our argument on how the internet has bettered the bond between individuals and supports this argument. The first observation is the availability of the internet. A plethora of internet-enabled messenger apps provide power to connect globally and from anywhere. Another great thing that the internet has provided humankind is video calls. It almost replicates the experience one generates from a face-to-face meeting and again from anywhere. Be it your office requirement or personal endeavour, one person or twenty people video calls has made it all possible and in the easiest of manner. Interestingly, the incredible success story of the internet bringing humans close has a downside. It is also responsible for limiting the individual from stepping out and choosing to socialise physically. The first support point is the over-dependency of the virtual setup and considering face to face meeting a secondary option or, in some cases, no option at all. Unfortunately, this reality is becoming more dominant as people have ceased to see the positives of physical meeting, namely, better trust and more productive conversation. Another point to consider while meeting in person is much more taxing in terms of one’s pocket, time and energy as it requires to travel to a meeting and again, for this reason alone, people choose to go virtual instead. To conclude, I can only say one should welcome the advancements in technology and the internet. I shall encourage its application to socialise to limit one feels it is a wiser option and must not deter from stepping out and meeting their friends and family physically as face to face meetings have unique joy and satisfaction.