research shows that consumers are less and less influenced by tv and newspaper advertisements than the past. why is this happening? is it a positive or negative development?

Customers are unaffected by commercials on television and in newspapers, according to studies on the matter. The explanation for it is that consumers are becoming more knowledgeable and cautious about trusting everything they see on television, which can be linked to the fact that the newspapers and companies have become dishonest with their audiences. This will have both positive and negative consequences. The reason why this is happening leads back to the loss of consumer confidence. Due to them not being frank with the things they sell, customers have lost confidence and trust in media and businesses, which over time has led to consumers not being able to trust everything they see. Another factor that leads to the aforementioned is that people now have more access to information than ever before, so they are more intelligent and aware of the dangers of being duped by advertisements targeted at them for the sole purpose of deceiving them. This can be beneficial because it prevents customers from being conned or scammed by certain corporations. People today are cautious, and therefore there is less potentiality of money and savings being lost to products being sold with false advertisements. In addition, this has the benefit of knocking out unethical businesses that place more importance on money than on satisfying customers; these businesses will fail, as they will be unable to sell their manufactured products. The harm of it cannot be denied since there are honest companies that produce high-quality products that rely on ads to gain exposure and publicity. Some companies, particularly newly founded companies that genuinely do care about their clients, tend to use commercials as a means to make their voice heard. If people are skeptical about all companies that advertise their products on media and newspapers, it leads to those businesses falling. In conclusion, Advertising can be both helpful and detrimental depending on the company's priorities and objectives, so people need to stay aware of false ads; however, they should not mark them all as deceiving since there are reputable companies out there that should be given a chance.