Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

In some companies, it is important that employees dress decently when going to work. In others, however, employees should focus on their performance other than their looks. From my perspective, I think that the quality of work is the top priority in an office environment. On the one hand, appearance does matter when you work in a company, especially in a national business. All employees are required to dress formally, which contributes to building and maintaining the company's professionalism. It is exemplified that staff in most banks need to wear shirts and trousers every workday in accordance with the bank's regulation. Another reason is that free dressing may indicate the idea that employees are comfortable to do other stuff rather than their tasks. By this way, their productivity is drastically reduced and it will be a major loss to the company. On the other hand, I truly support the idea that it is performance that outweighs appearance. Some people sometimes waste too much time on choosing their outfits, which will cut down their time spending on fulfilling obligations at work. Therefore, when people are allowed to dress freely at the office, they can pay more attention to improve productivity, thus contributing more value to the company. Furthermore, the outfit rule may sometimes cause competition, hateness and even discrimination among laborers, women for the most part. The richer usually have expensive clothes and are admired by others, while the poorer receive disregard and hateful treatment. As a result, it becomes a torture whenever they are at office for some individuals. In conclusion, for the reasons that I have discussed above, I believe that companies should value employees' working performance over their appearance.