Research Program (detailed)

The purpose of the current project is to know permeant interaction in the polymer. In this research, ammonia is the dissolved compound. Ammonia is a polar-chemical substance like water. The basis of its interaction with polymer is polarity. The polymer system chooses on this basis to get variant results. The ammonia-free energy inspects at infinite dilution with all-atom models. The chosen polymers are polyethylene, polyvinylidene difluoride, and polyvinyl acetate. In our daily life, we use them. Polyethylene is the material for plastic bags. Our water filter contains polyvinylidene difluoride. The polarity of them is different. Polyethylene is nonpolar. Its interaction with ammonia might be dipole-induced dipole interaction. The polar-interaction with ammonia polarity increases in order polyvinylidene difluoride < polyvinyl acetate. This work also uses the copolymers of ethylene, vinylidene difluoride, and vinyl acetate. It helps to study the variant polar and nonpolar contrast between constituent monomers. Polyethylene and vinyl acetate copolymer apply in the drug-delivery system. The performance of the polymer membrane needs to determine. So that, we must calculate the permeant dissolution free energy and diffusion coefficient. It observes with All-atom molecular dynamic simulation. It is a part of large-scale molecular dynamic simulation. This simulation can interpret many physical properties in biological systems and polymers. These properties are pore-size distribution, free energy, and substance diffusion. Those properties are difficult to observe by experiment in the laboratory. All-atom molecular dynamic is also an advanced method for polymers. It treats atomic detail and chain flexibility. But, this simulation requires large-scale computation currently. By standard simulation, many intermediate states produce in large quantities. It will increase the load in simulation. It becomes a challenge in computational research. Thus, the free energy of solvation measurement uses the method of energy representation. It is necessary to reduce computational demands. In this research, polymer species examination calculates in room temperature and pressure. Each system contains single polymer species. It is necessary to prepare the initial configuration of the polymer system. There are two different steps for this. First, prepare a single polymer chain. Next is to subject the polymer chain to isothermal Molecular Dynamic simulation. Some parameters need to consider. This work includes variant numbers of the polymerization degree of homopolymer. Then, the total number of monomers is constant. After the system is ready, insert The ammonia into the polymer system as a test particle. It results in the solvation-free energy of ammonia.