Reducing global environmental damage should be handled by governments rather than individuals.

It is believed that the authorities’ roles in minimizing global environmental damage negate those of individuals. However, I think that it is the responsibility of both governments and individuals. It is true that some environmental issues are beyond the capability of individuals. In order for a comprehensive environmental conservation, it is the role of governments to propose long-term solutions to such issues as global warming, deforestation, or extreme weather. This is because solving such problems requires the use of up-to-date technological devices and large numbers of experienced scientists to work together. Besides suggesting solutions to surmount such problems, it is crucial that the governments put forward environmental planning for sustainable development. For instance, the authorities should set limits on the use of fossil fuels and seek for alternative sources of energy such as wind power, water power or solar power. Since these activities demand a lot of time and budgets, only governments can have sufficient funds and resources to invest in them. . However, I believe that individuals also need to get involved in environmental preservation. Only by the approval and adherence of the citizens to the governments’ environmental policies do the undertakings of governments become effective. For example, if farmers continued to burn forests for agricultural land regardless of the regulations of the governments, there would be little likelihood that global warming is successfully mitigated. Thus, the cooperation of both politicians and individuals is needed. As individuals, there are various ways to contribute to reducing global environmental damage, such as recycling, replacing the use of traditional energy by using energy-efficient and eco-friendly household items or planting more trees. In conclusion, I believe that governments should be closely associated with individuals in coping with global environmental issues.