Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

There is no doubt that the university education plays a significant role students’ growth as individuals, and their role in the society in the future. Though, I believe that the higher education does not only attract better opportunities to work but also provide further opportunities in life those benefit the society directly and indirectly. I will discuss both the sides of the matter in this essay. First and foremost, the higher education molds students with a wide knowledge, and the skills required to perform the tasks better than individuals who could not complete the higher education. Businesses will always prefer to hire graduates for the work for a specific discipline which give graduates an edge competing with candidates without a university degree. For an example, a software development company will choose a graduate in computer science over a candidate who learnt to build software by its own. In my view, the higher education plays a vital role in building a society with all the facilities, and people with numerous specialties. The education of medical science, engineering, accounting, and business, etc. can be attained from the universities only, and a society without aforementioned specialties may suffer in its development and survival. University education gives little extra confidence to individuals because their future opportunities will be supported by their completed education. In conclusion, there is no debate about that the higher education gives more chances and number of opportunities to graduates, but the role of higher education is far more than a better job since it builds a better society with all the needs and requirements for human survival.