Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues.

There are many who claim hosting the Olympics games unproductively diverses money from more essential areas. In my opinion, there are still advantages and great values that this event could bring to the world. This essay will analyze both viewpoints of this issue, and give my own perspective. On the one hand, it is true that nations have to spend a huge amount of money to organise these games. Although it is held only once in four years, host countries have to use budgets to build and upgrade facilities and sports stadiums that could meet the requirement of main organizers. For instance, The Olympics in South Africa in 2000, the government paid a vast investment, about over a trillion dollars, to prepare and hold this while they could use this money for various crucial issues to improve the citizens’ standard of living. On the other hand, however, it cannot deny the beneficial impacts of this activity. Since it is an international competition, every country wants to be the champion, and people all over the world follow every match, encourage their teams, and have joyful moments together. This is also a good occasion for the host country to contribute the nation’s image in the world, if they organise this event professionally and successfully. In addition, global events are a good chance for people to connect together, and build a better relationship between different nations. In conclusion, although it costs a vast amount of money, it still brings to our world many positive impacts. I strongly believe that it should be held regularly, if governments and international organizations could balance the budgets in hosting games and other social areas.