Recently, many people know a few of their neighbors. What is the cause of this problem? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, many people hardly know any of the people living in their locality. Several factors such as technology, change in work culture have contributed to this problem. The following paragraphs discuss the reasons and the solutions for this issue. First, modern homes have become more sophisticated that hardly there would be a need to step out of their house. Technology has offered solutions for any activity, be it studies, sports, fitness or recreation, to be available in-house. For example, people had to go outdoors for all these activities which gave them a chance to interact and get introduced to people in the neighbourhood. Second, the change in the work culture because of our flourishing economy have made it difficult for people to spend time at home. Moreover, the crowded cities and ever increasing traffic volume has made people spend more time away from home and hence when people get home they want their time to be spent with their own families rather than on socializing. So, some innovative solutions are required to get people out of their homes. Local communities should be supported financially and encouraged to conduct events for sports, social activities and religious festivals. Also, the participants must be provided with handsome rewards which will encourage more people to come to these gatherings. Such changes would eventually lead people to get to know each other better. To recapitulate, it is the people themselves who have to realize the importance of socializing with others. They have to understand that it is the neighbours who can be the first to respond in case of any emergency and have to start working towards getting to know them.