Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Abortion is on the increase these days. There are a lot of arguments concerning its legalization. Despite its ability to save the life of a mother, it also can lead to the death of young people. This essay will discuss whether it should be backed by law or not. Firstly, abortion is considered a lifesaving option for expecting mothers who are faced with complications during pregnancy. During pregnancy the female body undergoes a lot of changes and these tend to put them at risk of many complications. Some of these situations can only be solved through abortions. For example, when a growing fetus dies in the uterus during the early stages of pregnancy, the only alternative is to abort it in other to save the mother’s life. As a result of this it is imperative to legalize abortion. Secondly, the mention of abortion causes a stir among some people in our society and is considered a criminal act. People believe that the existence of abortion tends to increase sexual promiscuity in the society. Young people resort to abortion when they get pregnant unexpectedly with the fear of being mocked at. For instance, the cases of unwanted pregnancies among young people has soared in the society. In order to avoid the shame associated with it, they consider abortion as a solution which can lead to untimely death. In conclusion, this essay discussed why some people hold the view whether abortion should be backed by law or not. In my opinion, abortion should be legalized to help save mothers who encounter life threatening complications in their pregnancy.