Recently, a statement by Ph. D Vu Thu Huong which is about the way of educating young children, has gained various controversal ideas from parents and social parties. In particular, she mentioned that the lack of punishment and disciplinary forms will lead to the down grade of young generations. To which extent, you do agree with this statement?

If the family is a cell that makes up the society, the school is a miniature society that reflects the consciousness and responsibility of the students. At this time, disciplinary rules are put in place to control student behaviour. However, in Vietnam and many countries affected by Confucian thought in general, many teachers have unknowingly understood the word "discipline" in its literal sense, leading to many generations of elders matured by corporal punishment. It is for this reason that many teachers, including PhD. Vu Thu Huong believes that the absence of discipline and disciplinary structures will minimize young ages. With the careful thought of either side in this discussion, it is our firm conviction that the assertion has achieved a specific level of truth while there are a few situations where inappropriateness is recognized, and it should be adjusted to the act of educating. In education, discipline is a set of rules of correct behaviour that students need to follow. Therefore, we do not deny the positive role that discipline has in education. A classroom without discipline is like a dead classroom. Take the teacher Nguyen Thi Tuat at Sai Son B Primary School, Quoc Oai district, Hanoi city, for instance. Since then, the relationship between teachers and students is no longer mutually supportive but only a contractual relationship. This "fair" and lack of affection teaching also invisibly causes ineffectiveness in learning. Not only that, it is not confident that students who behave disrespectfully to their teachers will be obedient to their parents. From a teacher's perspective, they certainly will not get any respect from undisciplined students. On the other hand, they also have a high risk of causing similar insults to their loved ones and, more broadly, evil acts for society. School is the cradle for education, an essential premise to foster human personality and guide them to become good citizens. On the contrary, if students are not nurtured with discipline right from school, they are just worthless people when they go out into society. Corporal punishment and verbal abuse are regular "experiences" at school for many Vietnamese children. This form of discipline has been around for a long time with the point of "Spare the rod and spoil the child". They automatically become a traditional method when teachers want to teach students. At the same time, many teachers give themselves the right to hurt children physically and mentally in many ways. This is also one of the acts of school violence. However, applying discipline to students does not mean that teachers are allowed to use violent behaviour. In the long run, this method will leave many severe consequences in students such as low self-esteem, lack of empathy, stress, guilt and create a big gap with teachers. Many studies show that the punishment education method is not effective in the process of educating students. On the contrary, when teachers punish students with violence, teachers are performing violent acts with children. It makes no sense for a teacher to stop a violent student's behaviour using the same method that the student is doing. Meanwhile, if teachers apply positive discipline, they can help children learn new and correct behaviours without fear of corporal punishment. In other words, teachers need to restore the balance of both sides. In order for school discipline to be effective, teachers must always be a shining example. At the same time, regularly encourage and encourage students to strive for learning. Besides, the family also plays an equally important role in maintaining either side when considering the application of any disciplinary acts to their children. Positive discipline methods help build respectful relationships between teachers and students and teach students to behave politely, courteously, non-violently, have self-respect, know understanding and respect for the rights of others. Discipline does not mean punishment. Teachers make positive changes, both students and teachers benefit. Therefore, for children to be self-aware of their shortcomings, families and schools need to apply positive educational methods and learn about their psychological development. This process may require patient "planting", but it is sure to "harvest the sweet fruit" towards forming a disciplined life for the child.