news editors decide which news to broadcast. what factors influence this? do people get used to bad news? is it better to report more good new?

News editors choose which events are to be covered by their televesion programmes or newspaper pages and which events are to be ignored. In this essay, I will be discussing the possible reasons behind their decision. I will also argue that bad news can become routine that no longer surprise or affect people, and that it might be better if media would cover some good news as well. News editors decide which news to report based on a variety of reason. Firstly, they must look at the impact of the event on the country it is happening in or on the whole world. For instance, events that has a huge impact on several countries can not be ignored. Secondly, news channels must take politics and laws into consideration. For example, they can not report events that might put reporters in a bad legal position. Finally, news must be relevant to the target audience. I personally believe that people can get used to bad news. When a specific region witnesses a series of murders, for example, the first murder is always the most shocking and the most talked about. In my opinion, news broadcasters should start reporting more good news. This can give people hope and can be something to look for after a long tiresome day. It can also help increase people interest in what is happening around them. In conclusion, several factors affect which events are reported and which are discarded. In my opinion, people can get used to bad news and it is probably better if we start hearing more good news.