Recent advances in drug technology have resulted in doctors prescribing drugs more frequently. While this development has many benefits, it may promote a focus on treating symptoms at the cost of causes. I partly agree with this view although there are situations where making symptoms the priority is valid. This essay will seek to examine this complex issue.

Recent advances in drug technology have resulted in doctors prescribing drugs more frequently. While this development has many benefits, it may promote a focus on treating symptoms at the cost of causes. I partly agree with this view although there are situations where making symptoms the priority is valid. This essay will seek to examine this complex issue. It is my view that drugs are often prescribed for recurring ailments such as headaches with no attempt to discover the reasons why they may keep happening. For example, medicine may help a person with backache, but not investigating the cause may mean the backache keeps returning. Although there is a case for trying to simply cure the symptoms, I believe that ignoring the long term issues is ultimately counter-productive.  Similarly, regarding the treatment of mental illness, it is clear that pressures on the health service in countries such as the UK do encourage doctors to use drugs rather than spend time trying to uncover the deeper reasons for an illness. These drugs may only sedate a patient rather than cure them. Obviously, in cases where patients cannot function at all this may be the only alternative. However, in my opinion the routine use of drugs avoids addressing the psychological issues in the person's life that may be causing the illness.  On the other hand, for certain world-wide killers such as cancer and HIV the cause may be unknown, so drug treatment of the symptoms becomes the main focus. If drugs improve a patient's quality of life, this can only be positive until the causes are better understood.  To conclude, there are many situations in which I believe increasing drug use leads doctors to look at symptoms more than causes, which may result in the illness continuing. However, a flexible approach is recommended as some medical conditions are helped by the use of modern drugs.