SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT TO SOLVE THE TRAFFIC CONGESTION IS TO INCREASE TAX BUT OTHER DISAGREE. DISCUSS BOTH AND GIVE OPINION

It is true that to impose additional tax on private vehicles is one of the way to demotivated to purchase private car that has significant impact on traffic jam. There are another two vital reasons are increasing living standard and relocation of population. In the one hand, people who are staying in developing countries like Bangladesh where Dhaka is the main hub of the country. Here living standard of the people is becoming upgraded and they prefer to own their cars. Sometimes, we noticed more than one car is being used for a single family. Presently, Government imposed two hundred percent tax in case of purchase a new car but it cannot stop the buying tendency because of the buying capacity that is skyscrapers. So, high income level may plays a crucial role in this case. On the other hand, due to urbanization, more people are intended to come the capital city. The reason behind this situation, lots of industries and business hub is being situated over there. So, to find the employment opportunity, rural people are migrating in to the urban areas where more transportation is required to facilitate themselves. Though public transportation system is not up to the mark, so people's are willing to buy a car for themselves, and this is caused for traffic jam which is on of the burning issue. To sum up, government may get benefited by imposing tax but it cannot help to reduce traffic jam due to many adjacent factors.