Reasons for and solutions to crimes

The fact that crime exists in every society is no longer news. The gradual growth in criminal activity has captured the attention of the media and the general public on several occasions. The following essay will look at reasons for this phenomenon and offer some solutions to curb criminal activities. There are different factors that contribute to this trend. Poverty is one of the principal reasons people engage in crime. It is easier to go without food for a day or two while you are alone but having fewer funds to cater for one’s family can be difficult to comprehend. This forces some people to resort to crime in order to survive. Secondly, the media has had an influence on our behavior. The internet has been a domain for violence, which can lead to crime. Some of us believe that committing crimes is just for fun because of the movies we watch. As a result, some people organize or join gangs and develop a personal symbol. Many people in society are terrified by the appearance of a gang, and some attempt to fight back. Last but not least, the underlying root of the problem is almost always a person’s home life. Some children and teenagers may not have a good family life, which drives them to act in socially unacceptable behavior in order to gain attention or because they have never learned right from wrong. For instance, a young person may shoplift in the hopes of being caught so that their parents will be obliged to pay attention to them. Some necessary measures need to be adopted in order to resolve this problem. First and foremost, to end poverty, the government must reduce the gap between the rich and the poor. In other words, the rich should pay more taxes while the poor are supported. Moreover, the authorities should use the appropriate amount of force to deal with such crime situations. The unproductive and retrogressive use of the internet should also be controlled and those using it maliciously should be punished accordingly. Finally, for youth crimes, parents need to focus on children’s lives at home and at school. They must take responsibility and make time in their hectic life to ensure that their children are not only physically but also mentally cared for. To sum up, crime is becoming a more and more serious global phenomenon. Despite these issues, there are certain solutions to dealing with them that concentrate on the reasons why so many people choose to commit crimes.