Benefits and drawbacks of advertising

Nowadays advertising is ubiquitous, and many people argue that advertising delivers useful information. On the contrary, people feel it gives deceptive information and intends to increase the price of products and services. My opinion is that advertisements are using misleading strategy and this serves false information so as to escalate their price tags. On the other hand, there are many reasons why people believe that the advertisements seem helpful. The most convincing reason for believing is that commercials could inform the public about products or brands which are newly launched into the market. Without advertisement, it would be difficult not only for people to know about modern, useful products but also for companies to notify customers about their products. Another major benefit is that advertising is a creative industry, which creates enormous job opportunities and employs many people. One television commercial offers many job opportunities in many areas, and it can help the society in some way. Despite the above arguments, I hold the position that most of the advertisers usually misrepresent unreal benefits of products and make the people excited to indulge in actions leading to their benefits. The main reason for believing this is that many commercials don’t show the harmful impacts of products rather focus on advantages. For instance, instant noodle advertisements only show that it is easy to cook and it uses amazing food plating which makes people appetizing, although it has drawbacks of eating preserved foods. Another reason is that commercials are using celebrities, who can influence the public, to promote these specific products and catchy jingles on television bombard us on all sides. Consequently, it attracts the people subtly and brainwashes into believing that we can obtain our ambitions quickly and easily. In conclusion, although both arguments have their own merits, I believe that advertisements give false information and advertisers only focus on their sales target and the companies’ revenues. Given this situation, it is crucial that the advertising industry itself should use more realistic presentations when they promote their products.