Reality television and talent shows

Reality television and talent shows have marked a turning point in the entertainment industry in just a few years. Yet, although all the fun, viewers are often left feeling dumb, pointless and empty after watching these kinds of programmes. In this essay, two aspects regarding reality TV will be discussed: the quality of entertainment viewers are getting and the influence it has on young people. Some may find reality TV entertaining, yet it is not precisely adding positive values to our society. Flip through your channels for a minute and witness random people shopping compulsively or a judge humiliating amateur musicians on live television. It is not to say that we should rely on TV to educate us, it is to say that its influence on the viewers must never be underestimated. Again, should a person in a power position mistreat another on prime time, why would not the rest of us do it at school or at work? Closely related to the point mentioned above is the influence that reality television has on our young. Not only is it worrying that our children's ultimate goal is to be like Kim Kardashian, but also it is putting unnecessary pressure on parents. On one side, some of them state to be preoccupied for allowing their children be influenced by pointless characters. On the other, the younger ones might get mocked at by peers for not being up-to-date with the latest episodes. In my view, it is essential to limit and supervise the amount of time children and adolescents spend in front of the television. Otherwise, they could be easily deceived by the numerous illusions reality TV wants to sell.