In Some Countries Around The World Men And Men Are Having Children At A Later Age

In a few countries around the world people are planning to have their babies at a later age whereas in the past, couples used to have their kids at a young age. There are a couple of reasons for / causes of this substantial change, and it will have both positive and negative implications on the society. This essay will brief a few reasons for the aforementioned change and also discuss a couple of effects on the society and family life. There are many reasons why educated young people want to delay parenthood these days. First, young people these days are very ambitious. They want to focus on their career in their 20s and early 30s and consequently, they are not keen to have a baby at that age. Another reason to delay parenthood is the desire to establish financial stability before bringing a baby into the world. It has now become quite expensive to raise a child and most young people want to be financially and emotionally prepared for that before they start a family. On the other hand, this development has both positive and negative implications for the couples and the society. People who delay parenthood may eventually find it difficult to conceive. Another downside is the health consequences for the mother and the child. Women who conceive in their 30’s are more likely to develop various complication. They also have a higher chance of having a baby with genetic defects. As for the society, this trend may reduce the birth rate and prove beneficial in the short term and detrimental in the long terms. Couples who have their first baby in their 30’s are less likely to have another baby and hence this will reduce the population growth in countries where this trend is rampant. In the long term, however, this will reduce the proportion of young people in a society and can affect its productivity. In short, career goals and lack of financial stability are the main factors that encourage couples to have babies at an advanced age. Unfortunately, this affects their fertility and increases the chances of having babies with birth defects. It may also reduce the birth rate of countries and increase the percentage of seniors in the population.