Read and think about the following statement: pets should be treated like family members. Give reasons to support your opinion.

Although there is no simple answer on this question and I can see the foundations on which those distinct opinions about the issue are based, I profoundly believe that pets ought to be treated like a part of a family because of the reasons which are discussed in details below. To begin with, there is no doubt that animals and human beings are not equal in many ways, for instance, a punishment for killing or murdering a person and an animal are incomparable. What is more, it is widely believed that animals have no consciousness and therefore they have no right or free will. In other words, there is no equality between an owner and his or her pet. However, may we aver that pets should not be treated like family members? The answer on this question is " no" , perhaps, because of subjective reasons. In fact, I surmise that each individual who has even owned a pet will agree with the statement that a pet has inevitably become a friend and a part of familiy. I can speak from my own expereince. In my childhood when I lived on a farm, we had many domisticated animals and I was allowed to have my own dog. This happy animal which was initially treated without respect from other members of family has gain it when it protected me from other dogs which attacked me. Although the dog was badly hurt, it managed to fulfill its duty. Today this dog is dead but it still has its place in my heart. Besides, we should treat pets as a part of our families owing to the fact that this attitude has a positive effect on human' s health. In fact, creation of such deep relationships between a cat, a dog or any other pet may dramatically improve health condition of the owner, in particular when we have a deal with senior citizens and elderly who feel abandoned. In conclusion, although at the first glance it seems unreanable to treat animals as a member of a family, more attentive look at the issue reveals that we ought to treat our pets as family members because of many subjective and objective reasons.