In some countries, many people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, the trend of living alone has increased significantly as compared to the past decades. As far as I am concerned, the trend could have both positive and negative development in this statement. The positive of living alone is relatively obvious. One such benefit is that individuals can become more independent. Without any financial assistances from family, individuals will need to learn and proceed everything by themselves, such as cooking, cleaning, time management, and paying the utilities, all of which are valuable life skills. Secondly, from an economic perspective, a growing number of people prefer to live by themselves will result in an increase demand for housing. This definitely encourages construction industries to build more houses and apartments to satisfy the need of people. However, there are opposing voices saying this trend is a negative development. First and foremost, individuals will tend to alienate with family. As living in this competitive society, young people have to work harder to support their lives and goal achievements. Consequently, the communication and interaction will be reduced with family. Secondly, and most obviously, from the financial point of view, a rise in demand of housing is likely to push up the price of the rent and properties. While this may benefit for some business, a number of residents, including those who live alone, burden will be increased. In conclusion, while there are two distinctive spectrums to both positives and negatives development, but the positives clearly outweigh the negatives based on the article above. Therefore, I strongly believe that live alone is more instrumental