Re-offending is common among criminals after serving their first sentence.

Re-offending is common among criminals after serving their first sentence. This can be led by a lack of support from their communities and a possible solution would be to create programmes to assist them back to society. It is certainly true that most of the minor delinquents commit crimes because they have nothing less to lose. Generalising, they usually have low income, unstable jobs and a few trusted people to help them through difficult times. Consequently, the punishment is not enough to convince them to stop offending. Moreover, sometimes being in jail even helps them since it assures a place to sleep and a meal to eat everyday. In addition, once they are released from jail they are back to their previous life and the struggle is still there. Consequently, they feel forced to commit again either because they have no resources or because they had a better life while serving the sentence. To make it more difficult, society has a stigma of what an offender is provoking a sense of alienation between criminals and making it even more difficult to reintroduce themselves to the community. It goes without saying that some solutions are needed. First of all, programmes should be created by the governments to help them to fit in the society again. Those programmes might include group sessions between prisoners about to finish their sentence and the ones who are already back to society with the aim of explaining what they can expect and how they can find help once they are outside. Furthermore, some apprenticeships and studies would be a great help in order to find a good job that would give them some more stability and a sense that they are part of the society. Overall, it is seen that offenders keep committing crimes after they are punished because of their low status in society and an inexistent support network. Measures such as giving some education or exchanging ideas with the ones who had been in the same positions are crucial to solve this problem.