SMACKING CHILDREN IS THE BEST FORM OF DISCIPLINE.

Discipline is one common way to train a child. While It is commonly argued that beating a child is the best form of discipline, this essay will argue why smacking a child isn't the best form of discipline. A guardian's childhood experience could have an influence in the view of smacking as a best disciplinary method, however this doesnt justify beating to be the best alternative. Experience they say is the best teacher. From past experiences, parents believe that being smacked as kids made them make better decisions and moulded them to be very good forms of themselves. For instance, my dad says that his mum's strictness and other physical punishments had an impact on his responsible lifestyle. Therefore, experience plays a part in parents who see smacking as the best way to correct a child. Despite perceived good outcomes from the experience of getting smacked, smacking could put a strain on the parent-child relationship. It could stir up fear and uneasiness in the child espcially when around parents. This could make the child see the parent as a stranger. For example, while growing up, my dad always flogged me for bad behaviours or mistakes. This measure put thoughts in my head such as being my father's least favourite child and this has caused a strain in our relationship till date. In essence, a strained relationship is likely to occur from smacking a child. In conclusion, this essay argued that the best form of discipline isn't smacking. In my opinion, I completely disagree that smacking is the best form of discipline for a child this is because smacking could cause unhealty relationship between parents and child, therefore other forms of discipline should be considered.