SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT MUSIC PLAYS AN IMPORTANT ROLE IN THE SOCIETY. OTHERS THINK IT IS SIMPLY A FORM OF ENTERTAINMENT.

The idea of music has been a controvesial topic between people for a very long time. Some people believe music plays an important role in society. Others think it is merely entertainment. This essay will discuss possible reasons to both believes and my opinion regarding music. Music creates awareness for individuals and the society at large. For instance, in my country Nigeria, music is the voice between the government and her people. Some musicians use their music to speak the mind of the people regarding the situatuon of things in Nigeria. This has not only helped inform the government about certain situations but also created awareness for people within and outiside the country about pressing matters. Secondly, some form of music could act as a medical tool for certain situations. For instance, a friend of mine who is a psychologist told me about situations where people who suffer depression are encouraged to listen to some certain songs which have positive affirmations to uplift them. Music acts as a medical therapeutic tool, and in this instance plays a role reducing the rate of suicide in the society. Considering that not all forms of music are informative. Also, not all forms of music have positve words, some music have alot of gibberish and vulger words which could have an influence on a person negatively, especially the younger generation. Music plays a role in the society which could be positive and negative. Music is one of the major contributing factors for quality entertainment. For an event to be tagged as fun and entertaining, music is a basic requirement. Music initiates dancing, relaxation, interactions and in general positive vibes. During the holidays, there are lots of musical shows that are held around the world. These shows are mostly packed with thousands of people just to enjoy themselves. Regardless of the entertaining perks of music, music creates job for people who take it as a profession and also could create more revenue for a country. For example, during coachelle thousands of people travel across the globe to be a part of this event. This increases tourism for the country, thereby generating more revenue. This event also creates jobs for individuals who are part of the organizing team. Therefore, music is not merely an entertainment but also it play a major role in the society by been a positive or negative impact in the society. In conclusion, music has a major role to play in the society. Music has shown in ways not only to be a mere enertainment but be a major part of societal forms Therefore, I am of the opinion that music is both entertaining and also has a vital role in the society.