Rating children in a proper way

Learning to distinguish between right and wrong, at a younger age, is a necessity. It is claimed that punishment is the key to imbibe this virtue. Even though disciplining is necessary, being harsh with children, is not an apt course of action. Instead, the need to develop innovative parenting and teaching techniques is a pressing priority. Any sentient organism would respond to stimuli, especially pain. Children are not different and do react to disciplinary actions. Firstly, youngsters need to be corrected as they do not innately have self-restraint and orderliness. For instance, when children accompany their parents to a bank, they need to know how to behave. In such cases, disciplining them is more of a necessity than an option. Besides, disciplining reminds them of their position within the society and institutes modesty in their character. Being young and free-minded, children may act arrogantly and might harm others with their actions or words. It, therefore, is easily understood that penalising youngsters for their wrongdoings would be helpful in their development. Nowadays, parents and teachers need to figure out other constructive methods if they need to continue penalising youngsters. First, instead of corporal punishments, parents may authoritatively deny their children free-time and personal space. For example, in the United States of America, parents adopt this technique wherein a child is not allowed to partake in any leisure activity, and often not allowed to step out of the house. Teachers, on the other hand, should be careful not to hurt young learners mentally, while still be able to correct them. As such, they may ask mischievous students to work on extra assignments or help their peers. Thus, effective disciplining may be practised by both parents and teachers. To conclude, I opine that punishments are required to build a better person. However, parents and teachers should adopt ways which do not harm them physically or mentally.