People these days tend to travel abroad for their holidays. Is it a positive or negative trend?

It is obvious that there are some aspects of international travel which raise cause for concern. Although it offers one benefit, I believe it is a negative phenomenon. Admittedly, travelling overseas broadens people’s horizons greatly. Being able to visit a foreign country means that travelers can be exposed to a new tradition and lifestyle. As a result, this exposure provide people with a deeper insight into a nation’s culture than media or books do. However, I believe the downside is much greater. To commence with, language barriers are enormous challenges to foreign travelers, especially in non-English speaking countries. The inability to communicate well with the natives of many people may lead to the misinterpretation and communication breakdown. Consequently, they might become isolated and hardly adapt to the environment. In term of the host countries, the influx of travelers is often associated with environmental problems. The overbuilding of tourism infrastructure poses a threat to the natural habitats. Furthermore, many visitors dispose litter very irreponsibly, which contributes to serious contamination. In brief, despite one advantage, it seems to me that the disadvantages are more considerable.