Questions: In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Consumerism tells people about the various kinds of products. Therefore, people nowadays visit mega shopping centres to buy their chosen commodities instead of going to tiny local shops. As a consequence, regional small shops tend to be closed. This essay will discuss both views before concluding any remarks. Firstly, local small shops play many crucial roles in past years to fulfill the partial demands of their customers although people do not get their preferable goods in there. For example, small shops in many developing countries only offer daily necessities to their customers. As a result, people bound to buy only those products without arguing. Even though, local shopkeeper keep extra money from their customers by showing lame excuses such as transport cost. Despite all these, one positive argument is that local shops can provide the chance to pay money after selling their products based on the neighborhood relation. But this phenomenon is totally absent in the shopping centre. However, mega shopping centres are a result of strong economy of a nation. Most people visit there to buy their selective cloths, goods and many other products. In shopping malls, we can see various types of shops. As a consequence, a customer can bargain about the price whereas local shops have no way to deal with the price. In addition, people can visit there to spends some free times with their friends and relatives because many shopping centers provide entertainment facilities, for example, Jamuna future parks. Furthermore, most of the mega shopping centres are very clean and tidy along with air-conditioned. So, customers can easily be convinced by the shopping center decorations. It is felt that people earn money much more than in previous time thus, they developed their desires and thoughts. Furthermore, the government earns also revenue in each year from the shopping malls. To put in a nutshell, I pen down saying that it is indeed a debatable issue which needs further analysis and discussion. However, in the light of above plausible argument along with example, it would be quite safe to conclude that this is a positive developments to visit shopping centres.