Question: The polarization of politics is leading to a breakdown in civil society and ensuring more precarious situation for all world citizens. What do you believe are the causes of this? What actions can be taken to solve this problem?

The surge of political division among people has created a perilous situation for society. The clash between political parties hasn’t been as clear as it is now. This has been caused due to the diversification of groups and the spread of fake news. Although complete eradication isn’t plausible, it can be reduced by educating the next generation and increasing awareness of the harmful effects of mass media. To begin with, more freedom on citizens has branched out hundreds of groups. As there haven’t been many common enemies in the United States recently, new ideologies, religions, and groups have been formed over the last few years. This has lead to the inevitable growth of extremist groups in politics. For instance, in the United States, where the Republicans and Democrats dominate the elections, the parties have been becoming more and more extremists to get extra votes. To add, the spread of fake news and social media has had made a huge impact. To generate higher views and click rates, there have been faker, more provocative information published, rather than truthful information. This has increased the resentment towards the opposing parties, which increased political polarization. It is true that the complete vanishment of political polarization is nearly impossible. However, there can be actions taken to solve this problem. In the long term, educating the next generation, so that they do not make the same mistakes as past generations did would be a huge leap forward. As for now, increasing awareness of the harmful effects of social media and mass media on politics is the priority. For instance, researchers of Waseda University have stated that over 90% of readers of provocative, fake news articles are shared with their families or friends. Hence, increasing awareness of this is a crucial action that has to be taken, in order to prevent more of this from occurring. The ever-growing political polarization has caused immense trouble to society. This has been caused by the diversification of ideologies that lead to extremists political parties. However, with the right education and the increase of awareness of issues with fake news, this could be reduced.