Question: Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

While some argue that university students ought to choose preferred subjects, others think what they learn should be inextricably entwined to some practical areas. I reckon that it is more important for them to study something wanted. It' s understandable that useful subjects should be studied by college students. Because it' s a person with limited and energy and he or she is required to adapt the inevitably changing world. He or she need to optimize their resources in university, which means learning some scientific or technical knowledge and skills is essential. Computer science, for example, without a doubt is a demanding and handy subject which can be connected to machine learning or even artificial intelligence which we need compellingly in the future. Although it is reasonable to learn practical curriculum at school, I agree with the view that subjects had better be specified as per students' eagerness. Multifarious points could endorse the opinion. Firstly, college students will be more passionate in learning preferred areas. And they may learn their own fields more efficiently, even can extend some new branches related to their professions. For instance, archaeology may be a less handy subject compared to science and technology. However, in the modern era, some scholars have already applied it to deter crime, by figuring out human' s regular activities then mixing it up with big data as well as data mining even AI. It would be beneficial for public security. By contrast, if students don' t like or even detest specific curriculum, they might give no energy so that they can not utilize this knowledge or skills, despite these subjects seem practical. To recapitulate, while it is sometimes true for college students learn what will be drown upon in the long run, I believe they should study whatever that love and give passion into.